clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Culinary Excellence Awards Head to TPC Summerlin

The Nevada Restaurant Association is ready to honor seven on Oct. 29.

Kerry Simon received a lifetime achievement award last year.
Kerry Simon received a lifetime achievement award last year.

The Nevada Restaurant Association is getting ready to honor the state’s industry leaders at its annual Culinary Excellence Awards Gala on Oct. 29. Three nominees in six categories are vying for top honors. One person will receive a special lifetime achievement honor, which last year went to Kerry Simon.

This year, the event heads to TPC Summerlin with a cocktail hour, silent auction and live auction in addition to the awards ceremony. Local CBS anchor Denise Valdez and Vegas Deluxe entertainment columnist Robin Leach host the event from 6 to 9 p.m.

Winners are selected for their commitment to promoting, protecting and educating the restaurant industry, their community involvement and leadership within their organizations.

Here’s a look at the nominees:

Employee of the Year
Jeff Trent, Hash House A Go Go
Sherry Fernandez, Wynn Las Vegas
Cindy Billingsley, Chili’s

Culinarian of the Year
Thomas Shirasaka, Venetian/Palazzo
Johnny Church, MTO Café
Devin Hashimoto, Mizumi at Wynn Las Vegas

Bartender of the Year
Mario Sena, Ferraros
Lyle Cervenka, Velveteen Rabbit
Joe Intiso, Postrio

Allied of the Year
Brett Sutton, Sutton Hague Corp
Tim Moulson, TERM Management
Ken Young, A-1 National Fire Co.

Restaurateur of the Year
Jeffrey Bank, Alicart Restaurant Group/Carmine’s NYC
Brad Budsall, Egg & I/Egg Works
Anthony D. Esparza, Comme Ca

Pastry Chef of the Year
Michelle Curan, Mitchie’s Munchies
Claude Escamilla, Jean-Philippe Patisserie
Christophe Feyt, Mandalay Bay

Tickets are $75 and can be purchased here.

TPC Summerlin

, Vegas, NV 89134 (702) 256-0111